Revit Model Hierarchy Sketch

Back in 2016 I put this simple, messy sketch together to describe some basic terminology around Revit models and how they are structured:



Revit Model:

  • Category
  • Family
  • Type
  • Instance (also known as “Element”)


May be hosted by:

  • Levels
  • Grids
  • Reference Planes
  • Faces
  • Special Categories (Floor, Ceiling etc)
  • Nothing


May belong to:

  • Phases
  • Worksets
  • Design Options
  • Groups
  • Other Families (nested)

The post Revit Model Hierarchy Sketch appeared first on What Revit Wants.

Read more